2015 Successful Hands Grant Program Winners Announced

Biofreeze, Massage Envy Spa and Bon Vital’ have announced the winners of the second annual grant program.

Image courtesy of Performance Health BrandsImage courtesy of Performance Health Brands

Image courtesy of Performance Health Brands

Biofreeze, Massage Envy Spa and Bon Vital’ are pleased to announce the winners of their second annual collaborative Successful Hands Grant Program. This year’s program, launched in February, supported the professional massage therapy student in their educational pursuits. Students applied for one of eight $1,000 grants. In addition, each winner’s school receives a $1,000 grant package. All applicants were asked to complete a 200 word essay on “What being a successful massage therapist means to me.” The submission process closed on October 15, 2015.

“I am truly confident that our profession’s future is in very good hands based on the passion and professionalism reflected in the grant applications,” stated Lynda Solien-Wolfe, Vice President Massage and Spa, Performance Health. “With over 850 submissions, choosing just eight winning essays was a difficult yet rewarding assignment for our selection committee. It’s an uplifting experience to read what our students are striving to do to make our world a better place. I am delighted and honored to announce this year’s winners, and they are…”

  • Kelly Berry; Body Therapy Institute, Siler City, NC
  • Melissa Furtado; SpaTech Institute, Plymouth, MA
  • Brittney Hawk; Cortiva Institute of Massage Therapy, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Sarah Huseby; Minnesota School of Business, Blaine, MN
  • Tyler Kragerud; East West College of the Healing Arts, Portland, OR
  • Bailey Leighton; Madison College, Madison, WI
  • Stacy Siddle; Cuyahoga Community College, Highland Hills, OH
  • Bridget Todd; College of Southern Maryland, La Plata, MD

“It has been truly gratifying to help develop and support this program again in partnership with Performance Health,” added CG Funk, Vice President, Industry Relations and Product Development, Massage Envy Spa Franchising. “As Lynda mentioned, it wasn’t easy for our selection committee to choose only eight winners—sincerely the best of the best. But we gave this task to five ‘best-of-the-best’ reviewers. We are very grateful for their willingness to serve on our review committee and for their talent and passion. Thank you all for making a difference in these students’ lives.”

The review committee members were:

  • Kathryn Feather; Senior Associate Editor, Massage Today
  • Julie Keller Callaghan; Editor-in-Chief/Publisher, American Spa
  • Mae Manacap-Johnson; Editor, Pulse; International SPA Association
  • Karen Menehan; Editor in Chief, Massage Magazine
  • Scott Dartnall; President and CEO, One Concept

“The 850 plus applications represented 304 massage therapy schools and/or programs. Because of this overwhelming response, I’m pleased to announce that we’ll be implementing the program again in 2016. We will share all the details in late January and will begin accepting applications in February,” continued Ms. Solien-Wolfe.

“Thank you to all the students and schools who participated this year,” concluded Ms. Funk.

More in Industry News