Rebecca Ramirez de Arellano Receives Massage Therapy Ambassador Scholarship

rebecca-ramirez-amtaImage: Craig Hall, Rebecca Ramirez de Arellano, Dolly Wallace, Tim Veitzer and Doug Nelson; courtesy of Performance Health]

The NHI Massage Therapy Ambassador Scholarship covers the cost for one National Holistic Institute (NHI) senior or graduate to attend the annual American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) National Convention, providing the recipient with access to industry leaders, educational sessions, networking venues and hands-on experience with professional products. Rebecca Ramirez de Arellano, LMT, a 2015 graduate of NHI, received the 2018 scholarship and attended the AMTA National Convention held last month in Washington DC.

Performance Health, manufacturer and marketer of Biofreeze Professional, Bon Vital’, Thera°Pearl, Prossage, TheraBand and Cramer health and wellness products, and NHI have presented this scholarship in partnership for eight years.

“Rebecca’s passion for our profession and her belief in its life-transforming power is contagious. It was truly an honor to present this scholarship to her,” said Craig Hall, Director of Sales, Massage & Spa, Performance Health. “I know she made the most of this opportunity and will continue to benefit from the experience for years to come.”

RELATED: Bill Brown Receives the Performance Health / Massage Therapy Foundation Humanitarian Award

Ms. Ramirez de Arellano is a licensed massage therapist, member of the American Massage Therapy Association and owner of Enci Wellness LLC, located in Lancaster, PA. British-born and raised in China and Thailand, Ms. Ramirez de Arellano graduated with honors from the National Holistic Institute in Los Angeles. She is passionate about massage therapy being a vital component of everyone’s healthcare plan to facilitate healing and help prevent illness and injury. Ms. Ramirez de Arellano has participated with volunteer massage teams at the ASICS LA Marathon, the LA River Ride and the LA Women’s Expo.

“At National Holistic Institute, our mission is ‘Helping People Have Work They Love’ and it was so gratifying to be with Rebecca at the convention and see her love of massage therapy and community shine through. She is a fantastic ambassador not only for NHI but for the whole massage therapy industry,” said Tim Veitzer, President, NHI. “We are very grateful to Performance Health for underwriting the scholarship again this year, as well as for the continued support we receive from Massage Warehouse, Massage Therapy Foundation and AMTA,” concluded Veitzer.

RELATED: Performance Health FSMTA Humanitarian Award Presented to Randy Brown

“Words cannot begin to express the gratitude I feel for being awarded the NHI / Performance Health Scholarship. I have been overwhelmed with their generosity and support,” said Ms. Ramirez de Arellano. “Everyone has defining moments in life that send ripple effects into their future and this experience has been a defining moment for me. I am so privileged to be a part of a genuine and dedicated profession that is growing, incredibly valued and has an exciting future. It is a pivotal time to be a massage therapist and I intend to make a lasting impact on our profession and my clients. Thank you NHI, Performance Health, the AMTA, Massage Warehouse and all involved for believing in me, empowering me, building my confidence and giving me so much support. I cannot thank you enough.”

About the NHI/Performance Health Massage Therapy Ambassador AMTA Convention Scholarship: This program is open to students and graduates from all ten NHI campuses who participate in NHI’s Massage Therapy Ambassador program. The program was the brainchild of NHI veteran teacher Melissa Wheeler. After being named the 2010 AMTA/Jerome Perlinski Teacher of the Year, Melissa envisioned a way others could experience the same sort of inspiration provided to her by attending massage conventions throughout her career. She knew many students and graduates did not have the means to attend so the scholarship program was launched. The first scholarship was awarded in 2011.

More in News