PBA Announces NAHA Finalists

chrystofer_benson[Image: PBA NAHA 2020 finalist Chrystofer Benson, haircolor, courtesy of Professional Beauty Association]

The Professional Beauty Association (PBA) has announced the finalists of the 31st annual North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA). The top hair, makeup and nail competition in North America, NAHA is the premiere platform for beauty professionals to push boundaries and bring their artistic vision to life. For the second year, NAHA will take place during the International Salon and Spa Expo (ISSE) show on January 25, 2020, at the Long Beach Convention Center Terrace Theater in Los Angeles.

Each year, industry artists submit their work and are judged by a blind panel. Finalists are chosen via an anonymous process with no contact between judges or knowledge of artist names to ensure anonymity and fairness. This year’s finalist candidates span 15 categories of excellence across hair, makeup and nail artistry.

Avante Garde:

  • Rodrigo Araneda
  • Damien Carney
  • Dilek Onur Taylor
  • Francesca Rivetti
  • Jamie Wiley

Editorial/Session Stylist of the Year:

  • Lucie Doughty
  • Ruth Roche
  • Ashley Stewart
  • Lisa Von Kurvink
  • Jamie Wiley


  • Rodrigo Araneda
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Genia Church
  • Rossa Jurenas
  • Sharie Valcin


  • Rodrigo Araneda
  • Chr is Baran
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Sharie Valcin
  • Yuki Yasui

Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Dilek Onur Taylor
  • Morgan Roy
  • Silas Tsang
  • Julie Vriesinga

Makeup Artist of the Year:

  • Daryna Barykina
  • Marie-Laure Larrieu
  • Noel McKinnon
  • Kate Nash
  • Tiaja Pierre

Master Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Chris Baran
  • Chrystofer Benson
  • Ruth Roche
  • Allen Ruiz
  • Julie Vriesinga

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Nieves Almaraz
  • Ammon Carver
  • Jamie DiGrazia
  • Jacqueline Figueroa
  • Charles Robinson

Nail Professional of the Year:

  • Wendi Barker
  • Cassandra Clark
  • Kayla Deus
  • Rochelle Dingman
  • Delia Hutchinson

Newcomer Stylist of the Year:

  • Keith Bryce
  • Natalie Cacciatore
  • Cassie Carey
  • Angela Debono
  • Lyuba Gadd

Salon/School Design of the Year:

  • Album Hair in Toronto
  • BOSS HAIR GROUP in Chicago
  • Jolie Beauty Bar in Toronto
  • Ryan M Scottsdale in Scottsdale, Arizona
  • TONI&GUY Galleria in Dallas

Student Hairstylist of the Year:

  • Mackenzie Dean, Aveda Institute Denver
  • Dorothy Greene, Aveda Institute Columbus
  • Matthew Leadabrand, Aveda Institute Los Angeles
  • Kaitlyn Rudie, Aveda Frederic’s Institute Cincinnati
  • Bailey Stone, Aveda Institute Des Moines

Styling and Finishing:

  • Ammon Carver
  • Adrian Gutierrez
  • Cory Hoffman
  • Michelle O’Connor
  • Dilek Onur Taylor

Team of The Year:

  • Ammon Carver Studio
  • Chr ystofer Benson Studio
  • RK Artistic Squad
  • Salon by Instyle Design Team
  • Ulta Beauty Design Team


  • Aprille Bouchard
  • Adrian Gutierrez
  • Jose Luis Buitron
  • Dilek Onur Taylor
  • Norm Wright

The Live NAHA event kicks off with a red carpet reception at 6:00 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony at 8:00 p.m. Tickets are available now at probeauty.org/naha, with special packages exclusively available to PBA members.

More in Event Coverage